Really tall blue people with mobile ears…

So, it has finally happened. Rumpole took me and Lookingforbeauty to see Avatar in the 3D version. The result of this screening has been an ongoing argument between Rumpole and me. He firmly states that my “inner child” has gone and left the building, leaving behind old husk of crone who is impossible to amuse. I keep telling him my “inner child” is very much with me, thank you very much, but perhaps it is a much more discriminating and discerning “inner child” than is his.

“What you really are saying, “Snakebite” (his pet name for me when he is not pleased by my reactions), is that you are of superior intellect, aren’t you?” he snarls back at me.

“Not at all, my dear one. I am just merely being me.”

Apparently this critical me is one of which he is not at all fond. You see, I committed the grave error of uttering a loud guffaw during the screening when the term ‘unobtainium’ was used to refer to a chunk of glowing, floating hunk of rock. And of course, from that point on my reactions travelled south rather quickly, to the point that no amount of visual splendour and technical brinksmanship saved the movie for me. I felt stupid being a one-eyed woman wearing 3-D glasses along with the rest of the crowd in the dark. My derriere grew roots into the plush seat and my legs started jiggling along to the beat of the Disneyfied music, all on their own. I experienced the weird sensation of sitting through a tedious video game I was never going to be able to win.

But what really got me was the blue people of attenuated Barbie and Ken physiognomy with their Anime-styled eyes, their o-so-cute mobile ears referencing their status as animal-like aliens, their cat-walk fashion loin cloths and their stylish dreads. I so lusted after an elegant and mobile braid which could magically link me with all other living creatures, like the plug on my lamp connects to a mysterious-to-me electrical source.

“Keep watching their tails,” urged Rumpole, “They are somehow important.”

I watched and watched, but could only see the tails registering various emotional states in the blue people. This was Rumpole’s second viewing of Avatar, and boy, did he get that business of the tails being important wrong!

References to Transformers, Dances with Wolves, Pocahontas abounded. The dialogue was truly lame. The story arc comic booky. The acting predictable. I confess to being thoroughly bored and made the error of telling Rumpole so.

“Well! I won’t be going to the movies again with you any time soon. This was supposed to be entertaining.” He is adamant. He will not go to the movies with me again.

Oh well! I am so shattered…Not! Those blue people did me in for popular movies. Now, if James Cameron had somehow mixed in a story line with a blue Mr. Bean or a blue M. Hulot, or the overacting goofball antics of a blue Peter Sellers as Inspector Clouseau, there might have been some snorts of needed laughter from little old me, squinting like Popeye’s mother through the 3D Glasses.

6 Responses to “Really tall blue people with mobile ears…”

  1. Trish Scott Says:

    Haven’t seen the movie but this is a highly entertaining review! Totally worth your price of admission – to me.

  2. suburbanlife Says:

    Trish – it certainly was not worth the price of admission, this sarcastic review. This has cured me of the movies, I’m afraid. But glad to be able to provide a laugh, nevertheless… G

  3. Marsha J. O'Brien Says:

    It amazes me how continually you are funny and how I love to read your posts! I haven’t “been to the movies” for such a long time. Last time the volume was so loud I cringed. Bless you sweetheart!
    Marsha
    stressmanagementmagic.com

  4. christine Says:

    Rumpole should have taken me! I loved Avatar. I know it was simplistic, but I it swept me away in spite of that. I thought the references to the Iraq War and Native Americans were spot on, and the plant life was beautiful! I didn’t mind that their bodies were preternaturally gorgeousl. Sorry you didn’t like it, G.

  5. lookingforbeauty Says:

    If the script in Avatar wasn’t to your liking, your critique of it is well written and humorous. You must admit that it has given you something fun to rail about for the last month or so.
    K

Leave a Reply

