Evenings and early dark…

Headed toward the Solstice, the days are shortening, light diminishes and darkness increases. While darkness has been much feared by humankind, it does have its own peculiar beauties. The firmament glows with scintillating fire, we cling together in groups for comfort and reassurance and to tell tales. The earth subsides into a pregnant darkness, unseen growth and enrichment burgeon beneath the darkness which pervades everything. We wait, with hope and with dreams of the fruitfulness unleashed by nature in the springtime.

Here, for your enjoyment is a song which never ceases to make the night magical for me.

Esti dal – Zoltan Kodaly, King’s Singers

5 Responses to “Evenings and early dark…”

  1. christine Says:

    G, it’s good to read your words! You create a reverence in this description of the dark that’s reflected in the beautiful music. I couldn’t get the link to work here, so I looked it up, and I’m listening to it now as I type these last syllables. Breathtaking.

  2. Deborah Barlow Says:

    I couldn’t get the video to play…would love to hear anything by a most beloved composer of choral music, Kodaly.

    And your words were so in keeping with feelings I have been having all day, looking out my window at trees bleached of their color, of the wind blowing through their bony remains. From your perch in Canada to mine in Boston, we are facing the beginnings of the Dark Season. May we use that darkness wisely, and use that wisdom well.

  3. The Querulous Squirrel Says:

    I couldn’t get the video either, but your words are such a hopeful perspective on the dark of winter towards which I feel enormous ambivalence. But, yes, the solstice always feels like an emotional turning point for me, in summer, dreading darkness, in winter, yearning for light.

  4. madsilence Says:

    Delightful! And what a tenor. I’m a great fan of choral music. Even sang a Hungarian piece in college choir.

    Tracked down the video to this site which also provided a translation:

    http://www.aboutthecomposer.com/blog/archives/245

    As I lay down for the night by the edge of the woods,
    I pull my blanket up to my chin.
    I put my hands together,
    Thus imploring you, my good Lord

    My Lord, grant me a place to stay,
    For I’ve grown tired of wandering,
    Of hiding,
    Of living in a foreign land

    My Lord, grant me a good night
    Send me your blessed angel
    To give courage to the dreams in our hearts.
    My Lord, grant me a good night

  5. suburbanlife Says:

    Christine – I tried and tried but couldn’t figure out how to embed the video. The variations by the girl choirs are also lovely, but this one with such few singers was compelling. G

    Deborah – Kodaly arrangements of choral works are sublime. There is that austerity to winter that has its own gorgeousness – the whole world like a sensitive sumi-e painting, full of texture and pattern – tracery. The night is like a blanket… G

    the querulous squirrel – since you are part Hungarian, your poet’s soul appreciates the mixed blessings of the night and winter. i think this song is for you. G

    madsilence – Thank you for the translation and the link to the site.
    The singer you consider a tenor is in reality a counter-tenor, for whose singing a taste has to develop. i have a recording of Elizabethan songs, sung by a counter-tenor which has whetted my appetite for the fluting sounds of the counter-tenor, which in early times were singing roles limited to castrati. i love it that the male voice ranges so far, and these singers have sung this song with such great feeling.
    I especially love it when readers of my blogs weigh in with their own experiences. Thank you! G

Leave a Reply

