The saga continues…

The fifth operation on my left eye, which was a mere three weeks ago, is now merely another installment in the saga of attempts to restore some of my failing vision. The eye is starting to resemble a desiccated bloodshot raisin. Its surface is pocked with craters somewhat like the surface of the moon. I now sport a permanent squint, much like Popeye, not a good look for a woman, but heck, it gives me character of sorts.

The last operation, #4, was to remove the oil bubble that had been inserted in my eye to help seat the retina which was becoming detached by scar tissue removed during the previous one. It is quite something to be able to see the pipette inserted into the eye’s globe and watch the viscuous oil  stretch toward the pipette’s tip and gradually diminish in size. I am glad to report that my complaints to the surgeon about the background elevator-music of Soft Rock in the OR had resulted in blessed unmusical silence which helped me concentrate on ‘observing’ as best I could the procedure. This operation was a slam dunk, or so it seemed. A really quick and painless recovery, only made irritating by my having to lie on my left side all the time for ten days.

Last Thursday, Rumpole drove us for a follow-up appointment with the surgeon. Even the rigmarole in the overcrowded office seemed less onerous this time. Enter Dr. Seemore’s sidekick, an efficient Chinese gentleman with a cultured British Accent. Dr. Seemore, it seems, was on a scant week’s holiday, which given his insane working schedule he truly deserves. This nice surgeon peered this way and that into my eye, shone lights into it and announced that some of the oil had been left in from the last operation and had to come out, during yet another operation. I had an unbearable urge to ask him if, perhaps, removing my eye for good and replacing it with a lovely shiny and smooth glass one might not be a better option. With gracious restraint but gritted teeth, I asked him how many more of this cutting and hacking I still had to anticipate and endure.

“I can’t say,…. maybe a couple more,” he dead-panned, “it all depends what happens during the next operation.”

Ookayy!!! An human eye is not so big an organ that it can take numerous invasions of scalpels and resewings. By now, my eye looks like a badly designed smocking, by a deranged seamstress, one who practises free-form smocking. I am rapidly losing patience with the whole scenario.

On the drive home, Rumpole commiserated with me about the whole deal. I told him how cheesed off and impatient I was feeling, and also that I’d have to suck it up and just get over it.

I came home, poured myself a big glass of red wine, and sat with my journal, writing out my feelings and ideas about what next? and how to adjust to the situation. So I have decided to get back to drawing and painting and and not be daunted by having to learn new ways and means to do these things. So onward to an adventure of an old dog learning new tricks. To Life!

15 Responses to “The saga continues…”

  1. citrus Says:

    I’m sick! Is there any chance of getting a second opinion? This doesn’t seem right to me.

    Roger

  2. Cori Says:

    Oh I’m sorry what an ordeal to have to go through! I had a weird eye experience last September two weeks after having my appendix out I had horrible pain in my eyes and could not even stand the very small light from my tooth brush. Turns out I had something called Iritis which is a swelling of the interior of the eye, could be autoimmue, could be nothing. However, while examining my eyes the doctor said I also had pigmented dispersion – where pigment floats around freely inside the eye. From our conversation I made the assumption that it was related to the Iritis, it took four visits to the doctor for me to finaly understand that it was not, doctors are not always great communicators. So anyway, this is turning into a post rather than a comment; pigmented dispersion could be a precurser to Glacoma. Fun stuff this getting older isn’t it?

    Good advice above perhaps a second opinion is in order. I hope you are feeling better and seeing better soon. Blessings.

  3. ybonesy Says:

    Yes, the eye just doesn’t seem big enough to miss parts of what a previous operation intended to extract. What a drag!

    Your humor and positive nature will get you through, though…ey, Popeye, or um, Olive Oil? Oops…that wasn’t funny. 😦

    Hey, I will say a prayer to my most favorite saint, Santa Lucia, in hopes that she might help. Saint for clarity and all things having to do with eyes.

  4. suburbanlife Says:

    Roger – i hope the graphic description didn’t cause your stomach to heave.
    During this appointment, a second surgeon came in and looked. She said the same thing would have to be done. I am running out of options here. Dr. Blindside is the second opinion since all this began. there are no other qualified surgeons that i care to try with now. Hope you are recuperated now, and feeling better! G

    Cori – God! The pain must have been awful for you! You know, these doctors are like the Delphic Oracle, as they seem to communicate in a mysterious fashion.. It seems like one has to freframe a question in several ways to decipher what they mean to impart by little dribbles of information. Keep regular checkups for your eyes from here on in. Also, ask about nutritional suppplements you can take to mitigate eye problems.
    yeah! getting old is not for the faint of heart, but luckily many of us get to experience the whole shebang. G

  5. suburbanlife Says:

    ybonesy – i like Santa Lucia, particularly the little plate with the eyeballls she is shown with in iconic images of her.
    Olive Oil – heh, heh, good one! yes it was funny! Thanks for that! G

  6. tysdaddy Says:

    “By now, my eye looks like a badly designed smocking, by a deranged seamstress, one who practises free-form smocking. I am rapidly losing patience with the whole scenario.”

    Wow. This hurt.

    We place our health in the hands of professionals who, at times, seem as clueless as me in the bra aisle.

    Hope the wine helped . . .

  7. Nita Says:

    What an ordeal to go through and that too it had to happen to an organ like the eye, so sensitive and delicate and so precious. I think you are very brave G, because you are not defeated. Do remain hopeful and keep that creativity alive. I know you will, but just remember that is more precious than anything else. Take care.

  8. suburbanlife Says:

    tysdaddy – thanks for dropping by. Yes, the glass of wine settled me down somewhat. I have to keep reminding myself that medicine is both Art and Science, and medical practitioners are not magicians – stuff happens because it happens in spite of best intentions and practises. the eye doesn’t feel too bad right now; looks worse than it feels. G

    Nita – Thank you!!! 🙂 This getting old has its uncomfortable moments, but not all that bad. Got to keep perspective, that seems to help a lot. G

  9. canadada Says:

    Bummer. My mum has wet macular degeneration so I understand the frustration. It certainly doesn’t help none when it SEEMS like there’s just ‘a whole lotta pokin’ goin’ on … ‘. We are at the mercy of the professionals.
    Never hurts to get another opinion, or another.

    I’ve heard that Lutein is good for the eyes … Hang in old girl. We’re rootin’ fer ya.

  10. Writer not Reading Says:

    Wasn’t there an impressionist who had very poor vision, Matisse I think, whose beautiful “blurry” work was attributable to his vision problems?

  11. Marsha J. O'Brien Says:

    Well this old dog is learning some new tricks too. Isn’t life sweet! I can totally understand
    your frustration with this whole ordeal. I merely had an abrasion on my cornea that I’ve
    been dealing with for 6 months – and that’s NOTHING compared to what you have been
    facing! I have faith in your strength and tenacity…you go girl!

  12. Deborah Barlow Says:

    Every time I read your candid reports on your eye epic, my heart breaks open wanting the best outcome for you, a woman who has valued and treasured her eyes. I send you a strong offering of hope and love.

  13. Miss Demure Restraint Says:

    Although your situation is disturbing, what struck me most here is you. You are an amazing person. Your fortitude is inspiring. There is an inner light that shines here. I see not an old dog but a beautiful soul.

    Miss D

  14. suburbanlife Says:

    Canadada – I feel for your Mom. Macular degeneration is no picnic, and having whole areas of vision not functioning makes for a demanding adjustment. I have been taking Lutein for about a month now, but at this point i am not expecting miracles. Doctors are notorious for not giving bad news thoroughly and well. Maybe they are embarrassed that they cannot do more for a patient. Thanks so much for your support. G

    Writer not Reading – do you mean perhaps Monet? Monet, Matisse, Magritee, -those French names are easy to confuse for us Anglo speakers. I certainly don’t count myself in that illustrious group, more of a pompier, me. G

    Marsha – a “mere abrasion” can mean trouble, and if yours took six months to heal, it must have been an uncomfortable and worrying time for you. Here’s to us old dogs! Yay! Thanks for your encouragement. G

    Deborah – thank you so much for your loving message of support. This has been an “annus horriblis for both of us, it seems. Hugs from G

    Miss demure restraint – very sweet of you to offer those words. me, I’m not any more amazing than masses of folks about in the world. Just trying to get by. Thanks for your visit and kind comment. G

  15. christine Says:

    I can see why you’d be frustrated, especially when Seemore wasn’t there to give the info to you himself.

    You have a salty, gritty approach to it, and nothing seems to stop you that a good glass of wine can’t cure. I’m cheering for you from Georgia.

Leave a Reply

