A Year…

It has been a little over a year that this blog has been in existence. During this time, writing daily, whether in blog posts or in my journals, has become my primary outlet for expression of my wonder about how my life which is increasingly more limited  yet has opened up so many possibilities for which I am grateful. The most profound change for me has been the gradual diminishment of my eyesight, of difference in how I now “see” the world. With this change of perceptual ability have come amazing benefits, the foremost of this is a realization of the tremendous riches, almost an unbearable hoard of gifts, available to an individual within a given span of life.

The gift from the world of blogs has been discovering the individual voices of many persons – their remarkable personal expressions in word and image, their opinions, their permission to peek into the unique lives they lead, their passions and knowledge. My world which has grown increasingly narrow in scope has been given great breathing room, has expanded from the blogs of many of you and I have thereby continued to be able to keep learning new things. The varied points of view have caused me to pause and review many of my own opinions and beliefs.

Thank you all for your generosity of spirit and action, encouragement and comments. May your celebration at this time of year, whatever form it takes, provide you and yours much pleasure and satisfaction. The Solstice is upon us; revel in the longest dark and anticipate happily the growing light days. Cheers; G

14 Responses to “A Year…”

  1. Nita Says:

    It’s been a little over a year too, for me, and you have been a fellow blogger for almost as long! Thank you too for encouraging me at a time when I needed it most! Your wonderfully encouraging comments were very much appreciated and very motivating too.
    I share your thoughts on blogging, about it opening up a larger world.
    Happy Christmas to you G, and a very Happy New Year.
    Hope you never stop blogging!

  2. Shefaly Says:

    G: Merry Christmas to you too. I found you through Nita so it is only appropriate my note appears below hers.

    See you in 2008!

  3. tugster Says:

    happy holidays. enjoy them all in moderation. i concur with thoughts on the “gifts of blogging.” thanks to blogging, i learned your voice. it was your post on staging and reinterpreting the manet painting that first caught my attention. i have especially loved the color comments you’ve made on my blog. again: happy all the holidays. will

  4. suburbanlife Says:

    Nita – I, too, hope you remain a blogger, being as you are such a strong voice from and for India. A happy, healthful and prosperous new year to you and yours. G

    Shefaly – Thank you for your visits, comments and good wishes. I look forward to reading your site as you post – you have a most remarkable broad and rich outlook on life. A happy and prosperous new year to you! G

    Will – yes, moderation in all things, the world and life teaches us and we’d be fools to ignore that caution. I look forward to seeing your remarkable photos and your writing in the new year. You have provided a valuable peek into an aspect of our prosperity in life and an economic activity upon which we are all so dependent and often oblivious toward, or at least I seldom thought of. real life stuff. So thanks for being here and doing the work, which in your case is obviously a labour of love. Have a healthful and happy time with friends and family this season, and a happy new year.
    G

  5. ybonesy Says:

    Merry Christmas, G. I’ve enjoyed your writing immensely. You are a gifted storyteller. Here’s to another year of self-expression and community.

  6. mariacristina Says:

    G., you express some of the same feelings I have about our community here on the web. You have been a huge inspiration to me, especially in how you relate your life with so much human tenderness and facility of expression. Here’s to another year on the web!

  7. onemoreoption Says:

    It’s true that we appreciate more when we understand what it means to be without.

    Blessed are you for using whatever diminishing visions you have to see as much as you can, and to share those visions with others.

    Love,

    OneMoreOption

  8. AnthonyNorth Says:

    I’ll soon have been blogging for a year, and I echo your sentiments. It is a marvellous blogosphere, is it not?
    Seasons greetings to you 🙂

  9. pmousse Says:

    Congratulations on your first year of blogging. So many blogs disappear long before the first year is accomplished. I look forward to reading more.

  10. the individual voice Says:

    This is such a beautiful tribute to the connections blogging can bring if you open yourself to it. I’m very sorry to read about your eyesight diminishing, though.

  11. Deborah Barlow Says:

    Your blog has enriched my year, and I look forward to more of what seems to flow out of you without limit. Thank you G.

  12. suburbanlife Says:

    ybonesy,
    christine,
    SIA,
    Anthony
    pmousse
    TIV
    Deborah – Thank you all for being here, for promoting engagement and thought in this world of blogs, and for your constant support throughout my year of blogging. For certain you all will output much during 2008 for all our consideration , instruction and sharing. That is a huge gift!
    love to you all, – G

  13. maryt Says:

    G, I came to visit you and to wish you all the best for the Holidays and Boxing Day. I hope you consider me one of those friends that have added to your life although not very often. I’ve enjoyed your comments and remarks especially regarding “Bad Art Friday” and trying with you to figure out Leon Blumfeld’s novels from their concluding paragraphs. 🙂

    All the best for the New Year. Please stay in touch.

  14. QuoinMonkey Says:

    G, I love your stories. They take me into worlds and places I know little about. Thank you for your kindness and generosity of spirit. I remember when I first found your blog and it moved me out into so many other good sites. What a gift to be connected by our writing. Here’s to many more stories in 2008.

Leave a Reply

