Cement Plant…

file0002.jpg

In 2004, on an August summer evening, Rumpole took me to take reference photos of the local cement plant. I planned to do a painting of the plant for a fundraiser for the local municipal art gallery the theme of which was – “Paint the Town.” To my thinking, local historical buildings and scenic views did not represent our town of suburbs, downtown core of cement buildings, malls with their massive concrete parking lots, the hard paving that we travelled on daily and were surrounded by, everywhere. For some reason, the cathedral of cement, from where all this suburban skin originated – the local Lafarge Cement plant – seemed an appropriate icon for ‘our town’.

So there we were, the two of us, at dusk. We wandered around the plant grounds. It felt abandoned, with a few cement trucks parked, ready to resume their next morning’s labour of moving wet cement to add yet more hard surface to the steadily encroaching spread of our community – bridges and overpasses, house basements, driveways and walkways, streets, mall parking lots – all multiplying like a grey mold. Rumpole didn’t seem to be as excited as I was by this place. He was more interested in making sure I took “The Proper Picture” and followed me around, taking the camera from my hand to see what the photos were like, and giving instruction on how best to take pictures. After all, it was his camera that was being used, and he has strong ideas as to what constitutes “good photos”. I was pretty pig-headed, myself, as to what kind of reference I needed to work from, so as we walked about in the failing light, we engaged in our usual heated discussion. Finally, I growled at him to back off and let me do my visual note-taking by myself.

There was something engaging about the persistence and vigour of the tall evergreen that flanked the plant. It suggested the power of nature to endure, to reclaim its primacy over any attempts to supress it. Thus it was this picture which I felt the most useful to work with and from.. It also approximated my idea of what constitutes the notion of “picturesque”.

This cement plant sits alongside a road many townies take regularly to access the ferry across the river. It is a landmark that goes largely unremarked, I suspect, not of as great importance or noteworthiness as the mountain that looms over our community, and which has been painted and photographed innumerable times. And yet, there it perches, this amazing structure, and has persisted in its peculiar architecture for over forty years. In terms of time, this is not so long a period, and yet as far as history of our town goes, its presence has been pivotal to the steady growth and spread over this region. So, how could it not be an important landmark, of sufficient interest to be used as an image representing the specifics of our town? I went with it, whole hog!

The painting, in oils on canvas, was three feet square. The scale was an important consideration to me. The painting grew apace, with a lurid and angry reddish sky. I delivered it to the gallery, still slightly tacky, as reds take a longer time to dry. It sat among the rest of the fundraising paintings and photos, like quite an odd man out. The mountain was represented at least in ten works; the parks, the dykes and historic buildings, nostalgia inducing, made up the rest of the images on offer. I could see that my painting might be a hard sell – not many people could live with a painting of an industrial subject, say, above their floral couch or looming over their dining room table.

At the fundraising auction, my painting did not incite vigorous bidding. A lady picked it up for $300. Well, at least it got some money for the art gallery, so that was fine. One thing though, I never took a picture of the painting for my own records, but that’s not so big a deal – it’s out there somewhere, even if it takes up a spot under someone’s bed.

A year ago, I was browsing through a second-hand store in town. Tucked in a corner, between a bookshelf and a ratty armoire was my painting of the cement plant. No price tag on it. I hunted down the clerk and asked him how much was being asked for the painting. $350, he said, “and it’s by a well known local member of the Mountain Club. It’s an original, you know – a real steal.” Later, that evening, I casually mentioned to Rumpole that my painting ended up in the second-hand store.

He studied my face, looking for signs of disappointment and dismay. “I’ll go buy it back. I like that painting.”

“Nope,” I said. “Once a painting is done and out in the world, it needs to find its way on its own. It has its own legs; let it end up where it ends up.”

“But, aren’t you feeling somewhat sad about it being remaindered?” he asked.

“Well, this is a good lesson about ego, self-importance, preciousness, letting go – it is a good lesson for me to think about.” I said.

Come to think of it – all those men who make roads, foundations, cement buildings do so in anonymity. I have my funny little signature appended to a part of my painting of the plant. The painting is one of many out in the world a mere speck of colour on a stretched sheet of canvas. It has served its purpose for me as its maker. It may, in its small way, cause people seeing it to wonder why someone might have lavished so much time and attention to crafting such an image. If it makes anyone, just one more person than myself, see the meaning, and importance that a cement plant has in our lives, my labours will have served their purpose.

12 Responses to “Cement Plant…”

  1. joefelso Says:

    My father told me about a period when he was painting only landmarks like your cement plant, and I remember his saying that, though that work didn’t sell as well, he felt it was some of his most accomplished work. The artist values the work differently, and who is to say where the true value lies? Maybe it’s the doing, the seeing, the putting it out there that matter most, not the owning.

  2. James Steerforth Says:

    “Once a painting is done and out in the world, it needs to find its way on its own. It has its own legs; let it end up where it ends up.” Well said!

    Still – wouldn’t it be nice if you had a picture of the painting? Then you might be able to share it with us here 🙂

  3. ybonesy Says:

    Packed in this short post is such a powerful message, G. I am awed by your ability to allow the painting to lead its own life.

    I am also once again struck by the goodness of Rumpole. What a dear man he is.

  4. mariacristina Says:

    This is such a unique, quirky story. It reminds me of the movie about the violin that traveled through the years. Who knows what stories your painting will accumulate, and where it’ll end up next.

    And the story of how it ended up in the second-hand store is another tale. By allowing the painting to go its way you show a willingness to collaborate with the universe. Great writing!

  5. Shefaly Says:

    SuburbanLife: An artist friend of mine, who lives in India and although some traditional South Indians scoff at it, is known for her non-traditional interpretations of the Tanjore style of painting, never signs her works. Her works adorn the walls of the houses of many Indian industrialists, designers and fashion icons. She gets paid a tonne for them but she never signs them. She says that those who know her work know that it is hers. Her style is so outstandingly unique.

    I am still waiting for one of her famous Tanjore interpretations of Ardhanareeshwar, half man, half woman depiction of Shiva, the destroyer in the Hindu trilogy of “Gods”. 🙂 It seems there is a long queue…

  6. suburbanlife Says:

    D – you are so right – it is noticing, doing, putting it out and letting production go out and do its work that is important, not who did it or who owns it. Your father must have had huge satisfaction from making the images that hooked him deep in his imagination, his thoughts – that connection is indestructible, and most likely the work bears it out as well. G

    James – when I came upon that painting in the second-hand store – it looked familiar and unfamiliar at the same time, a strange sensation as if someone other than me had made it. I realized then that it was the act of doing the work that is the most important to me, the byproduct of the work seems less important in hindsight, so I have little regret that I have no documentation to demonstrate originating the painting. I am not so obsessed with proof. G

  7. suburbanlife Says:

    Ybonesy – Rumpole is special, amazingly supportive and I am a fortunate woman sharing a life with him.

    Christine – I must confess to having wondered about where next this painting had got to – beats me, if I can even imagine – but think, 100 years ago people used all manner of materials to cover holes in walls to keep out the elements, and still do in many parts of the world. Maybe it will be used to line a cupboard, etc, etc, so many possible outcomes. G

    Shefaly – thanks for visiting. Interesting story about your friend the painter. Tradition as a departure point for contemporary interpretation has a long and illustrious history – why should it not continue, even during our times, although traditionalists reallly resent messing with icons which they would like to believe are immutable; however our nature is to elaborate and vary upon previous information. I bet your friend’s work is wonderful. Can you give me her name so I can find images of what she has made – I’d love to see them. Hope you get your painting….G

  8. maryt Says:

    What a marvelous story, G! I would love to have seen your cement plant painting. Tells me something more about you and your reaction to my “Bad Art” posts… 🙂

  9. canadada Says:

    You too write very convincingly. Always a pleasure. Cheers, c

  10. Shefaly Says:

    G: Thanks.

    I think her interpretation infuriates people because she is a North Indian daring to ‘interpret’ a South Indian tradition. Lets not even begin to discuss what labels might come her way if she were a South Indian. She is remarkably talented and if I did not know her husband, it is possible that we might have never met!

    Her name is Jyotika. She only uses her first name in her artistic work. None of her work is online now. She used to have a website but took it down. I shall ask her if she has pictures I can email you.

    Or I shall wait for my own piece of her creativity and take a photo and mail it to you. 🙂

  11. Deborah Barlow Says:

    The photo has a lot of presence, and the story charmed me. Thank you for this.

  12. QuoinMonkey Says:

    I love this story and the message is clear – Let Go. It’s so hard to do around artwork and writing. This would be a good piece for future artists to read. How amazing that you ran into your painting to honor “place” in a second hand store. And your ability to let it go. I’m inspired.

    I’m keenly aware around published writing as well – that once you release it to the world, it’s out there. It’s got a life of its own. Love the photograph, too. Adds to the piece, as I can imagine your painting, in living color.

Leave a Reply

