September’s End

Southwester bends

the rooted matrons across the road,

their russet frills stream, strain,

hold fast.

A child in a red hat walks by, 

anchored

by his father’s grasp.

Traffic flows against the wind,

propelled by an  unnatural force

over tarmac the colour of

a lowering sky.

Perched on a coffee-house stool,

an old woman gazes out the window,

waits for rain.

GM, September 2007

11 Responses to “September’s End”

  1. Cori Says:

    Beautiful…

  2. misty Says:

    really beautiful!

  3. pmousse Says:

    Oh, very nice. I especially liked the ‘rooted matrons’ and the child ‘anchored by his father’s grasp’. I felt like I was going to be blown away.

  4. Nita Says:

    nice read. I like these lines:
    //A child in a red hat walks by,

    anchored

    by his father’s grasp.//

  5. suburbanlife Says:

    Cory – Thanks for visiting and your comment. Starbucks, not a favourite place of mine to visit, afforded this opportunity to observe while listening to “I Feel Good” piping in the background and sipping a bitter cup. G

    Misty – thank you!

    pmousse – Thanks! – it was a spectacularly windy time, a good time to pend comfortably indoor, just watching. G

    Nita – children are marvellous to observe, especially how they are held safe from being harmed. Thanks for the comment. i was thinking of you asking if wrote poetry. This one is for you – it would be nice to spend company with you to hear your observations about such small things. 🙂 G

  6. QuoinMonkey Says:

    This is lovely. Moving.

    I love these lines:

    Perched on a coffee-house stool,

    an old woman gazes out the window,

    waits for rain.

  7. nemoo Says:

    A beautiful poem. Do you have any more you’d like to share with us?
    Enrique

  8. suburbanlife Says:

    quoinmonkey – your comment means so much to me! Thank you. I suspect, like me you are nearing old age. For me poetry written by others can be a surprise and an affirmation of my own thoughts, feelings and perceptions. Do you find this to be a case for you also? G

  9. suburbanlife Says:

    enrique – I am glad you liked this. Occasionally i write my own forms of free-form poems, have not yet learned to test myself with writing to traditional forms. But i have still some time to learn and stretch in my attempts – i hope! 🙂 G

  10. mariacristina Says:

    These verses stand out for me:

    their russet frills stream, strain,

    hold fast.

    I’m reminded of an Edward Hopper painting when I read this poem, one of those isolated moments, kind of lonely, nothing’s happening except a moment of perception, which really is everything.

  11. Nita Says:

    Suburban thanks. 🙂
    Come to India!! It would indeed be lovely to meet you. I don’t even know what you look like!

Leave a Reply

