Thinking bloggers? There are many…

thinkingbloggerStephen Danko of Steve’s Geneology Blog has tagged me with a Thinking Blogger Award, for which I am pleasantly surprised.

The rules for me to follow now are to nominate 5 blogs which cause me to pause at length and make me think.  Then to post the logo for Thinking Blogger Award, which is at left, due to Stephen’s kind efforts to take me through the method for doing so.  Please check out Steve’s blog, he has set himself a tremendous task in tracking family members.  He also has helped me post the Thinking Blogger Award Logo which you can append to your blog when you nominate five other bloggers.

There are many blogs which are thought provoking and demonstrate the writers do ruminate over things and share their thought processes with readers. My five picks are (order is unimportant!)

1. (Worst)writer – at www.worstwriter.wordpress.com  .  Tommi has a wonderful writing voice, loves manual and electric typewriters and obviously loves the process of writing.  An expatriate, he writes from Germany. He makes me think!

2. Galvanized – at www.galvanized.wordpress.com. This Texan matron, writer and observer thinks keenly about the culture she and her family inhabits. She is wise, socially and politically aware, insatiably curious about many things, spiritual and has a tremendous sense of humour. I look forward to all her posts, as she makes me take closer stock of situations surrounding me, here in Canada.

3.  Joe Felso (ruminations) at www.joefelso.wordpress.com .  This writer is a poet, teacher and artist with a marvellously complex view of the world he inhabits.  He writes thoughfully, with passion, self-deprecation and a marvellous creativity. If many teachers were like him, our children could be considered in wise hands! His poetry has both depth and breadth.

4. My writings : A wide angle view of India at  www.nitawriter.wordpress.com . Nita, a writer and middle aged woman from India provides a comprehensive view of life, manners, economy, education, politics and culture of India – always her writing makes me take stock of my life where I find myself and brings the realization of commonalities with people living geographically far away.  Nita does a tremendous job of situating her India as a globally important country.  i truly value what her writings bring to me.

5. Kay at www.lookingforbeauty.wordpress.com  writes amazing, perceptive and sensitive portrayals of the character and needs of the elderly in their relationship with younger persons.  She has, through her writings, processed her feelings and responses toward her aged mother’s care and decline toward death, and sharing these with us here in blog-land is a benediction.

I hope you enjoy and find useful what you find in the abovementioned blogs.  Please propel the meme forward by nominating your own Thinking Blogger Awards.

10 Responses to “Thinking bloggers? There are many…”

  1. Nita Says:

    Hey thanks for this!! I really appreciate your appreciation. You deserve the award more than me though. 🙂 You are truly the thinking blogger in every sense of the word as it reflects in ALL of your posts. Plus your writing has a flair. I love the way you write…
    Coming down to the nitty gritties, the url of my blog is:

    http://nitawriter.wordpress.com/

  2. Nita Says:

    Oh yes, if Steve has given you some instructions, how about pasting them here? I am afraid I am not very tech savvy either.

  3. Nita Says:

    sorry to bother you again but Gabrielle I see you have changed the words, but the link is still to the same mywritings.wordpress.com

  4. Nita Says:

    Thanks, its working now!

    By the way, I found out how to put the image in your sidebar. Go here:

    http://faq.wordpress.com/2006/10/18/put-an-image-in-your-sidebar/

    they explain it nicely.
    there are also many posts which ask the same question so if you type in your search words you will get many explainations. But first you need to save the picture in a file on your computer somewhere, then copy it to your blog.

  5. galvanized Says:

    Ahhhh, I LOVE the description of the blog, G! I’m going to read that whenever I’m getting that “blah” feeling on the days that I get a low number of hits. 🙂 I’m on it! And thank you so much for your encouragement! It’s a Godsend.

  6. Nita Says:

    I am going to nominate those five bloggers, need a little time though. About a week.
    Also, how did you manage to link the thinking blogger image to a file? I can just about upload images but have no idea how to create a link from the image…and when I put the thinking blogger image I want to link it.

  7. mariacristina Says:

    I’ve been visiting each blog on your awards list, and I’m having a great time! I agree with your award. Your writing makes me see the intimate, behind the scenes side of life. I was already acquainted with Joefelso, and I agree with you wholeheartedly.

  8. joefelso Says:

    Thanks—not just for this, but also all for your own wonderful work and for your thoughtful and supportive comments. You make the web a wonderful place to be! —D

  9. onemoreoption Says:

    Thank you for supporting and recommending other bloggers.

  10. Thinking Blogger Award « My Writings - A wide angle view of India Says:

    […] Thinking Blogger Award First I must thank Suburban life for thinking me worthy of the Thinking Blogger award. […]

Leave a Reply

